Painting Hope

Attended a painting workshop today at Art & Creativity for Healing a wonderful non-profit.

Painting is done very rapidly so that intuition rather than artistic skill is the focus.  And it’s hard to be skillful when make-up sponges and q-tips are used instead of brushes!

The theme of this workshop was PAINTING HOPE.  Here’s my painting and what it revealed to me: #CreativeSprint

Acrylic, Prayer of Hope

14 x 18 Acrylic, Prayer of Hope

My painting first focused on  20 years ago when I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia/chronic fatigue.  
  • The red represents the searing pain I experienced.  
  • The dark black color of despair turned into purple as the painting progressed.
  • The goldish/orange is the hope I felt with each new doctor’s appointment that maybe this time I would have an answer of what was wrong with my body.  (Those were the days when fibromyalgia/chronic fatigue were thought to be psychosomatic because test after test showed nothing wrong.) 
  • The paler gold represents giving hope to others.   
When it came time to talk about my painting it became clear to me that I no longer had hope for a cure in my life time.  And the realization that my hope was replaced by faith – faith that God gives us all trials and pain to help us learn and grow spiritually –  brought me to tears.
 
Twenty years later I realize that fibromyalgia/chronic fatigue gave me an experiential reference for helping others find hope during my 30 years as a practicing psychotherapist.  Fibro has been a gift, albeit a painful one.

If you want to see the other painting I did click here Curious to the Max.

Please check out Art 4 Healing.orgTheir mission is to support emotional healing through art & creative expression for those living in pain, grief, fear or stress.

